Creating Solutions

Thank you to everyone for their words of encouragement on my last post. I definitely needed to get it out and then be kicked in the pants. Nibbles hasn’t improved yet but my attitude has.

The vet came again on Tuesday (March 8). My sister met him because I couldn’t miss more work. When she pulled her from the pasture, Nibbles was still not her normal self. She normally is very happy and snuggly and laid back. She has been and was up/tense. They waited their turn in the cross ties.

IMG_6598

My sister got me started with Snapchat this week…

First, he checked her head and neck. Again no issues there until he got to her withers where she was still sore and tight. He made some adjustments near the T18 again and again commented that she still very sore there. Her hips were both out this time which is incredible to me. He adjusted her at L5 and my sister said there was a loud pop this time and she immediately was dramatically happier (blinking, head down, licking, relaxing). He did the tail pulls again and also did more acupuncture. And then he said he wanted to see her again next week.

Next week? A horse who isn’t being ridden need three chiropractic adjustments in four weeks? That’s… not right to say the least. I haven’t made another appointment yet because I’m not convinced that many adjustments that close together is really what’s best for her health.

I had my sister ask him what he thinks is going on and basically he said he doesn’t know. He says he thinks she either fell again or this is chronic. I asked the barn owner and the two barn hands and they all say they haven’t seen Nibbles fall or do anything out of the ordinary. She doesn’t even run around. I also have a hard time believing my not-yet-8 year old horse who has only been ridden for 10 months magically has chronic hip issues.

IMG_6597

The type of snaps I get from my sister

Here’s what I think: falling in the mud from the dirtbike incident really did a number on her back and hips and she’s been so tight since then she’s not keeping herself aligned. Combined with a saddle that doesn’t fit, we have one sore lady. Of course, that’s not the scientific explanation but I’ve been doing a lot of research and I want to test my theory before shelling out more money for a treatment that appears to be very temporary by a practitioner who isn’t doing much in the way of working on solutions…aside from wanting to do the same thing again.

51rp9EG8jxL._SX366_BO1,204,203,200_

Part of the research

So I am putting together what is probably best described as a physical therapy plan for Nibbles (post coming later). It’s clear to me we need to slow down and reassess what’s going on in her back and hips. Which means, for at least a couple weeks, I won’t be riding her. I’m disappointed because I had one week with my horse before the accident but I will always try to do what is best for her.

I am waiting to hear back from the massage therapist about what she thinks about the videos and then I’d like to have her out in a couple weeks to start helping me rehab Nibbles. If she needs more chiropractic work thereafter, so be it. I’m not ruling anything out and I’ll be running all my theories by health care professionals.

11 thoughts on “Creating Solutions

  1. Heather says:

    That all seems really fair. a horse that isn’t doing anything shouldn’t need that many adjustments unless there is something else going on. Sounds like the vet is more treating the symptom rather than the problem.

  2. emma says:

    you must be incredibly frustrated, so sorry you have to deal with this! when something kinda bizarre and not easily explained is going on with horses in our area (whether it’s behavior or physical), we’ll consider testing for lyme since it’s so prevalent here and can do such strange things to horses. regardless, i hope you figure out what’s up and can get Nibbles more consistently comfortable!

  3. Hillary H. says:

    So my 2c is that she might need it despite riding if nothing is being done to correct the tightness. My only reason for saying that is that Houston had a poorly fitting saddle. Then I had the chiro out and he was out in his ribs, sternum, and lower back. My chiro who was also a well respected vet (some chiros aren’t DVM) said that while the saddle was what put him out even putting a new saddle on wasn’t going to immediately stop reoccurrence. I needed to work on exercises that got him to lift his back the way he hadn’t wanted to with the bad saddle so his muscles would get stronger and “hold the adjustment” so to speak. Not sure I’m articulating this the best way as it has now been a couple years.

    I hope that your new plan works for little nibbles and you guys can get back to work. πŸ™‚

    • Rebecca says:

      No that makes sense! That’s what I meant about the PT to help her “hold the adjustment” like you said πŸ™‚

    • Karley says:

      Yep this… Gotta train those muscles to hold the right position bc or heist it will just go back to where it was.

      Hugs and hopefully she’s feeling better soon!!

  4. Erin says:

    I hate that you’re going through this. Sounds like you have a really good plan. Speaking from personal experience (my own not my horses), chiropractic adjustments are magic. But things do take time to heal. I fell off my horse back in November and had back and hip issues as a result. I was going to chiro every week and every week he was finding that my hips where out by a good inch. It’s not until very recently that I’ve been pain free/back to normal. Hang in there. Trust your gut.

Leave a Reply

