2016 Theme

Back in December (because that was so long ago), I sat down to hash out goals for myself and for Nibbles in 2016. I had a couple of things that I knew I wanted to write down:

  • Show Nibbles at Training Level by the end of summer
  • School all of First Level at home by the end of autumn
  • Blog at least twice a week, once being about Nibbles if possible
  • Ride at least three days per week (Sunday through Saturday)
  • Have Nibbles adjusted by a chiropractor
  • Have Nibbles teeth floated for 2016
  • Study for the GRE and really narrow down grad programs for myself

All pretty good, realistic and practical things. But what about more abstract things, granular things? What about finding a way to balance keeping Nibbles going with dressage while also trying out an introductory distance ride? What about balancing competition with her mental maturation process? And for myself, how can I balance my full time job and competing again and studying for the GRE without burning out?

I’m a list person. I’d even go so far as to say I like goals. But I was seeing a theme…

I have a tendency to get laser focused on one project. Sometimes, this is a positive thing: I am productive and I get things done. Sometimes, this is a negative thing: I neglect other things and, quite often, burn myself out. I feel like my “water carrying” capacity is pretty large and I don’t want to waste anything. That being said, I don’t help anyone – certainly not myself – by emptying my “bucket.”

Therefore, for 2016, I have things I would like to happen, especially showing at Training Level. But instead of a list of goals, I’m choosing a theme for 2016. My theme is one word. One word to focus on, one word to meditate on, one work to strive towards.

balance_web2

Balance.

That’s my theme for 2016. My goal is to achieve balance: personally, professionally and with horses. Who knows how this will manifest itself. I’m not a “zen” person or really all that knowledgeable about the Western world’s notion of balance. However, I feel strongly that this is the right word for Nibbles and for me.

I want to find a balance between training, competing and enjoying one another. I want to find a balance between how much time I spend investing in my marriage and how much time I spend investing in my career. I want to to find a balance of fitness and especially a balance of what types of foods I fuel my body with. (#goalbreeches)

Join me for the journey.

12 thoughts on “2016 Theme

  1. Heather says:

    That’s a fantastic goal. I totally get the laser focus thing, and needing to find a balance between different aspects of life.

  2. Erika says:

    I think that’s a great focus point. 🙂 I think I’m a bit like you and can overburden myself with sometimes too lofty and too many goals. It’s good to take a step back from goals that can become too rigid.

Leave a Reply

