Happy Oaks and Nearly Derby!

I live in the city where the Oaks and Derby are run and work just a few minutes from the twin spires. I love Oaks and Derby – I was raised going to Derby parties and all the wonderful festivities the city puts on in celebration. We don’t mess around. It’s kind of our thing.

Front page of this morning's paper

Front page of this morning’s paper

IMG_3918

Oaks is particularly special to me because it was one of the first dates my fiancé and I went on together. I can’t seem to find any photos from that day so I’ll steal some photos from his social media so you have some proof of our residence :o)

Handsome husband to be... 2012 I think?

Handsome husband to be in 2012

380704_10150877621748200_1964648204_n

Not the downs but the view from downtown, the Ohio River

Senior night in 2013 before the new video board

Senior night in 2013 before the new video board

We aren’t going this year but I’ll be watching and handicapping online. Totally unrelated, but I hope you like the blog’s new look! We had the black look for a while and I wanted something fresh that is still really readable. Tell me what you think!

Do you have a pick for Oaks and/or Derby this year?

2 thoughts on “Happy Oaks and Nearly Derby!

  1. emma says:

    i’d love to go to the derby one year… but then again we have the preakness right here and i rarely even make it to that haha so we’ll see

Leave a Reply

