Trot your horses please!

nibs.9.16.2

Isn’t the new arena pretty?

I couldn’t wait to post the picture of me actually on Nibbles so you got to see the photo for today’s post yesterday. Here’s an extra one so you can’t say I didn’t try!

On Tuesday night, I rode Nibbles for the fourth time in five days. I board with two other wonderful ladies at someone’s private property and one of the other boarders happened to be there at the same time. I have so few pictures of me on Nibbles, it’s silly. So when she was done with her horse, I asked her to snap a few. Yay pictures!

Mareface has got this forward thing down. She had this great, marching walk up, down, around the arena, into corners. It was lovely! With her newfound confidence, I decided the time was ripe to ask her to trot (for the first time, mind you). Sure, she says! And trot we did. After a few passes, she didn’t want to do it anymore so after a nice pass, I quit on a good note before I blew her baby mind.

For new readers, this was Nibbles’ fourth ride off the lunge line and her first time trotting under a rider off the lunge as well. I’m determined to get some video in the near future.

In the spirit of Throwback Thursday, here's Nibbles as a wee thing.

In the spirit of Throwback Thursday, here’s Nibbles as a wee thing.

I don’t know what it is about where I’m at right now – maybe it’s not feeling the pressure to sell her, maybe it’s not feeling like we are working towards showing. Whatever the case, I am so happy with where we’re at. We’re making steady progress and I can’t help but grin from the moment my bum hits the saddle with her.

Also, I realize I haven’t addressed why you see Nibbles in a bridle in the photos from when I had her on the lunge but you see her in a hackamore now. The reason being is that I like when I’m riding alone, if something were to go wrong like she bolted or bucked, I could do a one rein stop without yanking a bit through her mouth. Given Nibbles has never done either of those things but I feel like it never hurts to be prepared on a horse with less than 20 rides. I’ll transition to riding with the bit and hackamore on top and then finally to just the bit when she’s got a few more miles.

What’s your favorite baby-starting trick?

6 thoughts on “Trot your horses please!

  1. Erika says:

    I had to do some catch-up reading, so sorry if this seems wayyyy behind the times, but I’m so glad you didn’t sell Nibbles! I went through a phase about 3 years ago where I almost sold my guy, but every time I mentioned it I burst into tears. Horses can be hard (expensive and time-consuming), but they’re so worth it!!!

    • Rebecca says:

      You’re not way behind at all. I’ve been MIA from the blogging world. And I’m really glad I kept her also. I feel like she’s my sanity sometimes.

Leave a Reply

