Third Ride

photo (6)

After four days of not getting on her, Nibbles got ridden again last night. That makes it her third ride. She did get worked on the line on one of those four days but I wanted to let the puffiness go down (it did) and I needed to work with my other mare (we did).

Nibbles was more distracted than normal last night. Part of me considered not getting on. She wasn’t actually doing anything bad, was just jittery and kept wanting to look out OTI (Our Tiny Indoor) doors. I decided I felt confident in my ability to handle if she bucked or bolted and my sister was on the same page. So I hopped on and she didn’t do anything wrong. She was still looky and I felt like she was holding her pelvis up as though she had to pee. I hopped off and tried to see if she’d go but no success. So got back on and we set to work. The trot was more rushed with a little more tension than last time (the first time) but it was there in both directions on the lunge. I sort of laughed to myself because she’s done exceptionally well so far that I sort of forgot how green she really is. How she was last night is how I’d expect a greenie to be.

photo (7)

When we untacked, she dropped the bridle completely calmly. That was an issue just two weeks ago. She’s progressing by leaps and bounds in so many little details. I’m immensely proud of her. After we brushed her off, we went to practice trailer loading. This has been a goal for us as the last time she loaded, it took over an hour. She had a bad experience loading two times before (as in flipped herself over backwards).

Strategically, I brought her dinner to feed to her on the trailer. Before we even shook the bucket, she walked straight on the dang thing after maybe 2 seconds of looking at it. I’ll take it! So we praised her and rubbed her and let her eat.

Wouldn’t you know it: while she was standing quietly on the trailer, she peed. I knew she was holding it in! It explained what I was feeling what I was on her. After that, she got to go back out with her friends with a little unwrapped poultice on her back legs for good measure.

4 thoughts on “Third Ride

    • Rebecca says:

      Tell me about it. She actually has peed in the cross ties twice in the last week or so – don’t know what prompted that!

    • Rebecca says:

      Yep! She’s learning, though. I’ve found that giving her a sugar cube gets her moving her mouth and makes it easier ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

